Table of Content

Entry Requirements: Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Planning a trip to the Andamans? Here’s everything you’ll need to consider when it comes to paperwork.

1. Passport

a. Those with Indian passports can travel to and stay in the populous regions of the Andaman Islands, including Havelock Island, without needing a permit.

b. Your foreign passport must be valid for at least six months if you have one.

c. Holders of NRI, PIO, and OCI cards should also have their passports with them.

2. Visa

a. A valid Indian visa is required if you are not an Indian national. Prior to arriving in India, you can purchase it in your own nation.

b. Before travelling to India, you can apply for a visa at the Indian Embassy in the nation where you now reside.

3. Restricted Area Permit (RAP)

Indian nationals do not require a RAP to visit the Andamans.

As of 2018, the Indian government has allowed access to 29 islands in the Andaman Sea for foreigners without RAP. Special permits are no longer necessary to visit these 29 islands, for foreigners planning a trip to the Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

The permit is issued by the Immigration Authorities with a validity of 30 days and extendable by another 15 days, with permission. However, that will require approval from the Superintendent of Police (SOP) of Andaman, Port Blair district.

The Restricted Area Permit can also be obtained from the following offices:

  1. The Indian Missions Overseas
  2. Foreigners’ Registration Offices at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, and Kolkata
  3. The Immigration Authorities at the airports of New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, and Kolkata
4. Citizens of China, Afghanistan & Pakistan

Residents of Afghanistan, China, Pakistan, and foreign nationals with roots in these nations will still need a Restricted Area Permit to visit the Andamans. In such circumstances, the Ministry of Home Affairs would have to give its prior consent before the Restricted Area Permit (RAP) can be issued.

5. Citizens of Myanmar

Myanmar nationals can only travel to Mayabunder and Diglipur with the prior approval of the Ministry of Home Affairs.

6. Areas Permitted to Foreign Tourists (Without RAP)

Foreign visitors (except Chinese, Afghani and Pakistani citizens) are allowed access to the following 29 islands without obtaining a Restricted Area Permit (RAP):

1. East Island
2. North Andaman
3. Smith Island
4. Curfew Island
5. Stewart Island
6. Landfall Island
7. Ayes Island
8. Middle Andaman
9. Long Island
10. Strait Island
11. North Passage
12. Baratang
13. South Andaman
14. Swaraj Dweep
15. Shaheed Dweep
16. Flat Bay
17. North Sentinel Island
18. Little Andaman
19. Chowra
20. Tilang Chong Island
21. Teressa
22. Katchal
23. Nancowry
24. Kamorta
25. Pulomilo
26. Great Nicobar
27. Little Nicobar
28. Narcondum Island
29. Interview Island &
30. Viper Island(Day visit only).

Top Andaman Guides

We care.

Customer Happiness

We’re delighted to help you. Anything you need, we’re available.

Secure Payments

We take your security seriously. Use our data-protected, user-friendly payment gateway to process payments safely.

No Hidden Costs

What you see is what you get.

Fast Confirmations

Be confident that your trip is set. Get ready for the experience.
Subscribe to Mailer
Subscribe to Mailer

Stay updated with all the excitement that Andamans has to offer

Collaborate with us for Blog/Content
Collaborate with us for Blog/Content

If you have a flair for writing, write for us and get featured.


Be your own tour guide.
Be your own tour guide.

Get lost or never. You decide. Download our handy tour guides to plan your trip.


Why Choose Us?

Local Expertise

By the locals, for the world

The Choicest Experiences

Only the best experiences make it to G2A

Tailor-make your own holiday

Build your holiday your way
They ❤️ Us
They ❤️ Us